top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleana Reyna

Learning through COVA


This is only my second semester in the ADL Program and I've learned so much already! I've learned so much more this year than the past 5+ years combined and that's all thanks to being immersed in the COVA learning approach. When I first began Graduate School last semester, I was shocked and confused about the format of our classes. I was shocked about not having final exams. I was so frustrated that Dr. H wouldn't just tell me what to do. Given COVA has taught me that it isn't about the final exam. It's about the learning that happens in the process of learning. I am learning how to learn and THIS is what needs to be taught in schools. It took me three weeks into my first semester to finally realize what the frustration was all about. It was about learning. I had always "learned" in the traditional way, so getting out of that mindset took some time, but when I finally did, I began to love learning. I realized that I need to listen to my students more and foster what they want to learn about, too! Giving my students choice, ownership, and voice through authentic learning opportunities is what's going to keep them motivated to learn, teach them how to learn, and create lifelong, self-directed learners.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page