top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleana Reyna

I'm not an Innovative Educator...YET

Wow! I have a lot of work to do! The article "Are You an Innovative Educator?" REALLY made


me reflect on my teaching. Have I given students the opportunities to engage in authentic learning? Yes...or so I thought. I never really realized that in order for a project to be innovative or authentic, it has to go beyond the classroom. I've kept my student's work in a "box". Why haven't I shared it? I'm not sure. Thinking back, I had always been a student who did things because someone asked me to do it. I've posted things on Twitter, but I didn't really think about the audience. All it takes on social media is a tag. If I were to just tag the right people, I could really get things seen and shared.


Dr. Kotter's video, "Communicating a Vision for Change", talked about under-communicating your vision or ideas. This made me think of my Innovation Plan. When it's time to communicate my Why, How, and What, I must engage my audience DAILY. Sending an email once a month isn't enough. I really need to think about how I can communicate my

ideas on a daily basis as I begin planning my innovation plan. Any ideas welcomed.

Comments


bottom of page