top of page
  • Writer's pictureIleana Reyna

Learning & Doing NOW!

Joi Ito said, “Education is what people do to you. Learning is what you do to yourself.” That made me think. I am in control of what I learn. Learning is a powerful tool that empowers me with the knowledge I need to make a difference. Ito was so inspiring with what he accomplished with the radiation measurement app he helped create. This was something that needed to be done NOW, and he got it done! He didn’t ask for permission or wait to see what other leaders thought. He just did it.

I struggle sometimes with sharing my ideas because I don’t think they’re good enough or I

think that maybe I’m late to the game and someone else already had that idea. What is there to lose? I need to work harder on changing my mindset about not being good enough and be able to share what I think needs to be done. Like Ito said, instead of having to plan everything and be so prepared, focus on being connected, always learning, fully aware, and super present. “Don’t be a futurist, be a now-ist!”(Ito, 2014)

Thanks to this course, I am finally learning how to learn...and I’m learning! I now need to model this behavior for my students so they can also feel this excitement! What authentic projects can I guide them along? The planning starts NOW!



Feel free to leave any authentic project ideas for elementary students in the comments.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page